ROUTES · RIGHTS · RATES
SOURCE SCOPE KEPT ATTACHED
CONNECTIVITY EVIDENCE DESK / N1
Follow the fiber.
Keep the claim honest.
Search public dark-fiber rates, subsea capacity products, and official commercial offers without turning a route drawing into an inventory claim. Exact units, terms, dates, and source limits stay attached to every record.
- Evidence checked
- August 31, 2026
- Official source links
- 17
READ THE PRODUCT / N2
Four layers that should not be merged.
“Fiber” can mean a physical strand, an entire subsea pair, a slice of optical spectrum, or an already-lit channel. Their rights, equipment, and pricing are different.
Dark fiber strands
Unlit glass strands in a land route. A customer typically leases strands or a pair, supplies optical equipment, and may separately pay for laterals, splices, endpoints, maintenance, or construction.
Full fibre pair
Two physical fibres—one for each direction—inside a submarine system. Long-term fibre-pair rights offer high control, but do not automatically include landing-station space, terrestrial backhaul, terminal equipment, or legal title to the cable.
Spectrum
A defined band of optical frequencies on a shared fibre pair, commonly expressed in GHz. It offers more control than a fixed wavelength without requiring rights to the whole pair. Managed and unmanaged products assign operating duties differently.
Wavelength
A provider-lit optical channel sold at a stated service rate such as 100G or 400G. The provider generally manages line equipment; the customer buys capacity rather than a whole strand, pair, or spectral partition.
WHO DOES WHAT / N3
Owner, operator, and seller are separate fields.
- Asset owner
- Holds the physical asset or a documented ownership interest. A corporate parent and a cable-system owner may be different entities.
- Network operator
- Runs, monitors, maintains, or restores the network. Consortium systems can divide operating responsibilities.
- Seller / provider
- Markets the lease, IRU, spectrum, or capacity product and issues the commercial proposal. It may use partner or third-party segments.
EVIDENCE REGISTER / N4
Offers and rate evidence
9 of 9 records match
Municipal network · United States
City of Centennial · FiberWorks
Municipal dark-fiber IRU and short-term lease schedule
Market / product
Centennial, ColoradoPoint-to-point dark-fiber leases on the City's 432-strand, roughly 50-mile network for businesses, ISPs, community anchors, and government entities.
Published rate summary · source units preserved
- 20-year IRU · 12 fibers / full buffer tube
- $2,750.00 per pair, per fiber mile · upfront payment
- IRU routine maintenance
- $275.00 per route mile · annual
- Short-term · community anchor institution
- $110.00 per mile, per fiber pair · monthly rate; paid annually
- Short-term · commercial / private
- $137.50 in the linked schedule PDF; $137.00 on the current webpage · per mile, per fiber pair · monthly rate
- Short-term · carrier / ISP
- $275.00 per mile, per fiber pair · monthly rate; paid annually
- Term
- IRU: 20 years. Short-term schedule: 5 years or less. The schedule states minimum quantities and says changes to the City's basic agreement can change pricing.
- Effective / checked
- Schedule effective April 16, 2018; amended April 5, 2021. It remains linked from the City's current FiberWorks page as of the evidence check.
- Availability boundary
- The City invites inquiries, but no row in this desk establishes that a path, pair, interconnection, or construction is available for a particular address.
City of Centennial
City of Centennial · FiberWorks
City of Centennial
The City describes the backbone as City-owned and publishes the lease schedule itself.
Read evidence scope and caveats
What this proves
A municipal provider publishes these rate units and baseline agreement terms for its dark-fiber program.
What this does not prove
Inventory, path diversity, latency, optical loss, route construction cost, or a binding quote for a requested circuit.
Source caveat
The linked PDF and current webpage disagree by $0.50 on the commercial/private monthly tier. Both exact figures are shown; this desk does not silently reconcile them. Setup and interconnection fees may apply.
Municipal utility · United States
Riverside Public Utilities
Commercial dark-fiber monthly lease schedule
Market / product
Riverside, CaliforniaLayer 1 physical fiber connections for commercial customers between customer sites or to third-party facilities on a roughly 120-route-mile municipal network.
Published rate summary · source units preserved
- First ten strand-miles
- $125.00 per strand-mile · per month
- Additional strand-miles
- $100.00 per strand-mile · per month
- Drops / laterals
- $150.00 per month · up to 12 strands; distance note says minimum per mile or 0.10-mile fraction
- End points
- $150.00 per month · up to 12 strands; page does not specify whether this is per endpoint
- Agreement of 10 years or more
- 30% discount on fiber lease rate · not on drops, laterals, or end points
- Term
- Rates may be locked for up to five years, subject to a 2% annual cost-of-living increase. Lease fees are invoiced in advance on an annual calendar-year basis.
- Effective / checked
- Council adopted the schedule July 11, 2017. The current product page remains published but does not state a revision date; checked 2026-08-31.
- Availability boundary
- RPU says connections exist to a limited number of buildings and that more are planned. A customer request can require extension, premises, endpoint, or third-party work.
Riverside Public Utilities
Riverside Public Utilities
Riverside Public Utilities
RPU states that the network is owned, operated, and maintained by RPU.
Read evidence scope and caveats
What this proves
RPU publicly states its rate components, eligible commercial use, and installation-cost allocation.
What this does not prove
That a requested building is on-net, that a particular strand is spare, or that construction and third-party charges will be zero.
Source caveat
Customer-side and new-construction work can be billed at work-order cost plus 15%; third-party costs can also apply. A 2017 staff report states a $300 monthly minimum that the live page omits, so current legal pricing requires confirmation. The published page is not a serviceability result.
Government-owned telecom portal · India
BharatNet · BSNL
National rural-network dark-fibre tariff
Market / product
BharatNet block and Gram Panchayat networkDark-fibre leasing for authorized service providers and other eligible entities under India's Department of Telecommunications.
Published rate summary · source units preserved
- Dark fibre base tariff
- ₹3,000 per Fibre-KM per year · GST extra
- Operation of OFC joint
- ₹3,500 per joint · one-time
- New joint chamber, when required by BSNL
- ₹4,000 per chamber · one-time
- Volume threshold
- 25% discount at 50 or more Fibre-KM · mutually exclusive with outcome-linked discount
- Highest stated outcome-linked tier
- Up to 70% discount when the published usage criteria are met
- Term
- Six-month minimum. Two advance billing cycles: January–June and July–December. Excess from mid-cycle provisioning is adjusted in the next cycle on a pro-rata basis.
- Effective / checked
- Effective May 11, 2026 through December 31, 2028, unless revised earlier.
- Availability boundary
- The booking portal accepts a request and gives timeline guidance. That is not confirmation that a specific fibre path can be provisioned.
BharatNet public network; link-level asset ownership is not resolved by the tariff FAQ
BSNL portal / relevant project implementing agency for provisioning
BharatNet service through BSNL booking workflow
The official FAQ separates the national policy, eligible lessees, billing, and the implementing-agency agreement. It does not establish one universal asset owner for every link.
Read evidence scope and caveats
What this proves
An active official base tariff, unit, eligibility rule, minimum term, billing cycle, and stated discount framework.
What this does not prove
Spare fibre on a requested block-to-GP or GP-to-GP path, acceptance of an applicant, or final GST, joint, power, and implementation charges.
Source caveat
Discounts depend on published thresholds and are mutually exclusive. Fibre is billed as Fibre-Kilometres multiplied by the applicable tariff; this desk does not convert it into another unit.
Public utility district · United States
Grant PUD
Wholesale dark-fiber Rate Schedule 120
Market / product
Grant County, WashingtonBackbone dark-fiber components between Grant PUD facilities for qualified customers with an approved Telecommunications Facilities License Agreement.
Published rate summary · source units preserved
- Backbone license · 5-year term
- $55 per route mile · monthly recurring charge
- Backbone license · 10-year term
- $50 per route mile · monthly recurring charge
- Backbone license · 20-year term
- $45 per route mile · monthly recurring charge
- Backbone dark-fiber component minimum · shown only in 5-year table column
- $2,000 · minimum monthly recurring charge; do not assume it applies to 10- or 20-year terms without a quote
- Final-mile connection
- $2,500 · non-recurring charge
- Term
- Published options are 5, 10, and 20 years. Each order is one continuous path under one agreement. Route miles are determined by Grant PUD using OTDR light distance and rounded up to a full mile.
- Effective / checked
- Effective August 1, 2024; Resolution 9059. The schedule says it supersedes prior dark-fiber rates.
- Availability boundary
- The rate is expressly subject to Grant PUD review and facility availability. It does not obligate Grant PUD to construct new fiber facilities.
Grant PUD
Grant PUD
Grant PUD
The schedule applies to Grant PUD fiber facilities and places service under Grant PUD telecommunications customer policies.
Read evidence scope and caveats
What this proves
The current official rate schedule establishes term-specific per-route-mile recurring charges and stated minimum/non-recurring components.
What this does not prove
That a path exists between requested endpoints, that strands are spare, or that a customer will qualify for the required license agreement.
Source caveat
Taxes may be added. Restoration language is an obligation to respond and commence work within two hours and normally restore within eight hours; it is not an unconditional uptime guarantee.
Commercial network provider · North America
Lumen Technologies
North American metro and intercity dark fiber
Market / product
Metro, intercity, on-net building, and data-center routesDedicated dark fiber, custom and predefined routes, network colocation, operations and maintenance, and optional managed optical/professional services.
Published rate summary · source units preserved
- Published pricing field
- Custom Pricing
- Term
- No standard term or rate unit is published on the current product page. Commercial design and terms require provider engagement.
- Effective / checked
- Current product page checked 2026-08-31; no rate-effective date stated.
- Availability boundary
- Lumen states that services are not available everywhere and may vary by service area. Street-level designs are a commercial deliverable, not a public availability ledger.
Lumen Technologies for the Lumen network assets it offers; route-level ownership must be verified
Lumen Technologies
Lumen Technologies
The provider markets, designs, operates, and maintains the service; a map line alone would not prove that Lumen owns every underlying segment used in a custom solution.
Read evidence scope and caveats
What this proves
Lumen actively markets dark fiber and describes the product capabilities and commercial contact path.
What this does not prove
A public price, an available pair on a particular route, an endpoint quote, or ownership of every path segment in a future design.
Source caveat
The phrase “Custom Pricing” is preserved as published. This desk does not estimate or benchmark a Lumen price from municipal tariffs.
Commercial subsea operator · Europe
Aqua Comms · an EXA Infrastructure company
Irish Sea subsea dark fibre on CC-1 and CC-2
Market / product
Dublin–Anglesey and Dublin–Blackpool / Isle of Man branchesSubsea dark fibre for carrier-grade customers on CC-1 and CC-2, with customer-controlled terminal equipment and optional colocation and remote-hands support.
Published rate summary · source units preserved
No numeric price published in the linked source.
- Term
- Aqua Comms states that dark fibre is available through IRUs of 10 years or more.
- Effective / checked
- Current product page checked 2026-08-31; no public price-effective date stated.
- Availability boundary
- The provider page labels CC-1 and CC-2 dark fibre as available, but inventory, exact endpoints, technical acceptance, and commercial terms still require confirmation with Aqua Comms.
Aqua Comms identifies itself as owner/operator of CC-1 and CC-2; EXA Infrastructure completed its acquisition of Aqua Comms in 2025
Aqua Comms
Aqua Comms
Corporate ownership, physical-system ownership, operations, and the commercial seller are separate facts. A customer should still confirm the post-acquisition contracting entity.
Read evidence scope and caveats
What this proves
Aqua Comms publicly markets a long-term subsea dark-fibre product on the named Irish Sea systems.
What this does not prove
The price, an uncommitted fibre pair, customer eligibility, exact landing-station handoff, or ownership of every terrestrial backhaul segment.
Source caveat
No numeric price is published. “Available” is the provider's product statement, not an independent inventory or serviceability check. Aqua's AEC-3 page separately says dark fibre is available on selected routes; that does not establish blanket AEC-3 availability.
Commercial subsea operator · North Atlantic
Aqua Comms · an EXA Infrastructure company
Managed or unmanaged subsea spectrum
Market / product
Aqua Comms owned fibre pairs on selected subsea systemsA portion of the optical spectrum on a subsea fibre pair, allocated in GHz, with managed and unmanaged service options.
Published rate summary · source units preserved
No numeric price published in the linked source.
- Term
- The product page describes allocations that are usually 25% or 50% of a fibre pair. Commercial term and price are not publicly stated.
- Effective / checked
- Current product page checked 2026-08-31; no public rate-effective date stated.
- Availability boundary
- Aqua Comms markets spectrum as a current product. System, band, power-density, terminal-equipment, and inventory details require a provider design and quote.
Aqua Comms says it owns the fibre pairs used for its spectrum offering; current corporate parent: EXA Infrastructure
Aqua Comms for managed service; customer carries defined operating duties for unmanaged service
Aqua Comms
An unmanaged customer controls its allocated spectral band and equipment, but does not thereby own or operate the entire cable or fibre pair.
Read evidence scope and caveats
What this proves
The provider offers managed and unmanaged fractional fibre-pair spectrum, usually described as 25% or 50% and defined in GHz.
What this does not prove
A public price, available GHz on a selected system, the achievable bandwidth of a proposed modem design, or ownership of the full fibre pair.
Source caveat
Spectrum is not converted into a wavelength count or Gbps estimate here. Those depend on the band, power rules, modem technology, guard bands, and system design.
State network · United States
Illinois Century Network
State-network dark fiber IRU and monthly lease offer
Market / product
Illinois · ICN point-of-presence pathsThe state network says it has more than 1,000 miles of dark fiber for sale through a 20-year IRU or monthly lease.
Published rate summary · source units preserved
No numeric price published in the linked source.
- Term
- IRU: 20 years, with upfront right-to-use payment and annual scheduled maintenance. Monthly lease: 3-year minimum; the page also notes 3- and 5-year terms.
- Effective / checked
- Current service page checked 2026-08-31; no public rate-effective date or numeric schedule displayed.
- Availability boundary
- Standard pricing is described for POP-to-POP purchases, but splices are case-by-case. Additional charges can apply between POPs, in metropolitan Chicago, and for carrier-hotel access.
Not established for every segment by the service page
Illinois Century Network
Illinois Century Network
The service page establishes ICN as the commercial contact and network operator; it is not a parcel-by-parcel or cable-segment ownership ledger.
Read evidence scope and caveats
What this proves
ICN publicly offers dark fiber under stated IRU and monthly-lease structures and identifies material exceptions.
What this does not prove
A numeric price, a spare strand, a viable splice location, or standard pricing for downtown Chicago, carrier hotels, or segmented paths.
Source caveat
The page refers to “standard pricing” but does not display the figures. No inferred price appears in this desk.
Official-hosted historical guidance · Reference
California Public Utilities Commission · hosted reference
Dark Fiber Lease Considerations
Market / product
General pricing and lease-model guidanceA 2012 memorandum hosted by CPUC that explains common dark-fiber pricing structures, IRUs, maintenance, and additional connection costs.
Published rate summary · source units preserved
No numeric price published in the linked source.
- Term
- Research reference only. It is not a current tariff, provider offer, or route quote.
- Effective / checked
- 2012 guidance; explicitly treated as historical on this desk.
- Availability boundary
- Not an availability source.
Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable
CPUC hosts the memo as planning guidance; the memo does not make CPUC a fiber owner, operator, or seller.
Read evidence scope and caveats
What this proves
Common commercial structures often separate fiber rights, maintenance, laterals, splicing, colocation, and other costs.
What this does not prove
Any current market price, specific-route availability, or what a provider will quote today.
Source caveat
Historical examples must not be presented as current offers or used to fill missing provider prices.
PUBLICATION RULE / N5
The map can show a lead. The source must carry the claim.
The cable toggle keeps route geometry, cable-system identity, landing stations, ownership, operations, product availability, and pricing as separate evidence fields. Public geometry should never be promoted to dark-fiber inventory.
Historical reports remain searchable, but they are visibly marked non-current. Prices remain in their original currency, unit, customer class, and term—no silent conversion to a global “price per mile.”